Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Double barrel Shotgun >

Double barrel Shotgun

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Double barrel Shotgun

Old 01-27-2009, 05:44 AM
Fork Horn

Default Double barrel Shotgun

Well I just ordered the double barreled black powder 12 ga from Cabelas and I have to admit, I am new to muzzleloading shotguns, not rifles though. I have ordered shot, felt wadding and quick shots at the recomendation of a friend that shoots one.
Any insite from the forum on this? This gun will be my primary waterfowl gun , as I do love shooting muzzleloading guns. just looking for tips and/or tricks on loading and shooting this.

As for powder I do have 3 pounds of Pinnacle coming and I do have a full bottle of T7 here also.

Old 01-27-2009, 06:03 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Double barrel Shotgun

I did a lot of hunting with one years a go, for waterfowl I would recommend getting a number of different regular reloading wads like the power piston and the closed one Herters used to sell; and just like with the rifle you have to find the load that patterns best. Lee
Old 01-27-2009, 06:26 AM
Fork Horn

I had a 10ga. Pedersoli which I sold last year. Ist check the regulation of the barrels. Mine was so far off it was almost useless. The left barrel shot below POI. I still have the shotflasks, one is the English style the other is a Irish styleif your interested in them. If your hunting waterfowl you will need plastic shot cups to protect the barrels from the steelshot. I would suggest the ribbed ones, they are easier to load thru the chokes.
Old 01-27-2009, 06:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

ahhh I've been lookin' at those for a long time. I'm quite jealous. I just can't justify spending that much money right now... maybe one day. Make sure you keep us updated on how it shoots.
Old 01-28-2009, 01:34 PM
Nontypical Buck