Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 I need some professional help >

I need some professional help

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

I need some professional help

Old 10-05-2008, 07:07 PM
Fork Horn

Default I need some professional help

Im new to muzzleloader hunting but i do rifle and bow hunt. I am in the process of trying to find good guality muzzleloader but dont really know which one to buy. So heres the questions...
What muzzleloader would you purchase?
What scope would you buy?
And what would be the your choice of powder and bullets?
Thanks Justin
Old 10-05-2008, 07:26 PM
mountaineer magic

Default RE: I need some professional help

You will probably get a different answer from everyone here. There are a lot of quality guns out there now . I'm not a professional but I have hunted with blackpowder for 30 years and have quite a variety of muzzleloaders. I would say a Thompson Center Omega in 50 cal.. They are quality guns that shoot well at an affordable price.Blackhorn 209 is the newest powder but I haven't tried it yet. I still shoot triple 7. For bullets I would use the 250 grain Shockwave easyglide. For a scope the Nikon Omega . Stay away from the Traditions scope as I just had a new one bust apart inside. I'm sure you will get all kind of answers . Second choice for a gun after the T/C would be a Remington Genesis.
The decision is always the hardest part Good luck
chet

Old 10-05-2008, 07:33 PM
Fork Horn

Most eveyone who gets into black powder and muzzloading needs "professional" help. It is very habit forming , just for starters. More guns, powder, balls, cleaning stuff etc. On and on it goes!!
Old 10-05-2008, 07:38 PM
Dominant Buck