Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 348 grain Powerbelt >

348 grain Powerbelt

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

348 grain Powerbelt

Old 12-24-2007, 05:30 PM

Default 348 grain Powerbelt

Ive been shooting 295 grain hollow point powerbelts with 80 grains of loose JSG. Had pretty good results. I bought some 348 grain Hollow point Powerbelts to play with. Should I start with the same 80 grain load or go up or down. I'm new to this stuff so I'm just having a blast playing with it.
Old 12-24-2007, 05:50 PM

Default RE: 348 grain Powerbelt

stay the same. I did some shooting with the 348 grain all lead, and the bullet hit a railroad tie @ 100 yards, expanded to the size of a half dollar! Thats a great load for expansion.
Also penetraded 2" into the railroad tie and blew out the side of it.
Old 12-24-2007, 06:32 PM
Boone & Crockett

BigSarge

So how are you liking that new Optima? This muzzleloading thing will "git ya" if you are not careful.

When you start feeling comfortable handling and shooting that gun you also might want to start trying new components... you do not mention whether you are using pellets or loose powder, but loose powder will save you a lot of money + allow you to develope loads that give you the best accuracy.