Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 new to black powder >

new to black powder

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

new to black powder

Old 03-12-2007, 01:18 PM
Fork Horn

Default new to black powder

hey everyone i am new to muzzle loading. i have never even shot one before but today i bought a traditions evolution bolt action with
26'' fluted barrel in a .50. just looking for opinions on loads powder and wether or not this is a good rifle, despite the good price. thanks in advance.
Old 03-12-2007, 01:34 PM

Default RE: new to black powder

I would like to welcome you to the world of mling.I know very little about this gun so I can be of little help with loads. I know that some people say they can get very good accuracy and reliability with their Traditions.I can not say for sure but know that they have gotten some bad ratings. I for one started out with a low end TC for 110 bucks. This seemed like the best way to go for me and now I upgraded to an Omega.

Your gun should be very suitable for a firstML but you will more than likely want to upgrade AFTER you get lots of experience. This is a low end gun and is used by very few experienced people as far as I am aware. That is of little importance though.

Best of luck to you. You will get some recommendations for loads but I cannot help you there. A very good load for any gun in my opinion is 250 grain Shockwaves and 100 grains of Pyrodex powder. I like CCI or Winchester Triple Seven primers.

Most importantly, have fun!!!!
Old 03-12-2007, 02:08 PM
Dominant Buck