Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 I'm about to throw this thing in the lake >

I'm about to throw this thing in the lake

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

I'm about to throw this thing in the lake

Old 12-01-2006, 06:49 AM
Fork Horn

Default I'm about to throw this thing in the lake

I shot at a deer last weekend at 50 yards i had a good rest on the side of a tree, i missed the deer but i hit a branch 3 feet above it. i went back to the yard and shot 3 shots at a target @ 50 yards the hits were all over the place. i was shooting harvseter 300 gr. sabertooths they look like power belts with 100 gr. of 777. now my best group is with 295gr power belts with 95gr. of 777 but i was out and the sabertooths were all i could find so i just added 5grs. of powder to make up the diffrence. this was on a sundy i started shooting at noon i shot everything i had 240-300grain sabots to 223gr-338gr powerbelts and charges from 80 grains-100grains, i am afraide to go over a 100gr because of the kick. i clean my gun spotless after every shot but i couldn't get anything under a 6 inch group. i shoot a cva wolf.
pat
Old 12-01-2006, 06:59 AM

Default RE: I'm about to throw this thing in the lake

Pat, the sad part is,some guns are shooters,and some aren't. My wife shoots a Knight Wolverine. It's a low end gun,but they are shooters. I've watched her shoot 3 bullets into the same hole at 100yds. off the bench. I've had some "real bargin" guns,and most were disapointments. On the other hand I've picked up some really nice guns,at pawn shops,dealers,ect, used that were excellent shooters. The NEF muzzle loader,Knight Wolverine,and a few others are proven tack drivers. Look for sales,and buy the best you can afford. It makes all the diffrence in the world! Ron
Old 12-01-2006, 07:09 AM

ORIGINAL: BOYWONDER