Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Cleaning the cap nipple >

Cleaning the cap nipple

Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Cleaning the cap nipple

Old 08-12-2006, 12:41 AM
Spike

Default Cleaning the cap nipple

I am new to black powder and recently bought a White Ultramag in 50 cal. After shooting about 30 rounds through it, it would not fire properly. I took it apart and noticed I could not look through the nipple. I ended up using a safety pin and oil to get all the crud out. How often should I clean the nipple out and is there an easier way? I cannot use 209 primers and have to use #11 primers in Oregon.
Old 08-12-2006, 04:07 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Cleaning the cap nipple

I use pipe cleaners.
Old 08-12-2006, 07:59 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: silverstreak

I am new to black powder and recently bought a White Ultramag in 50 cal. After shooting about 30 rounds through it, it would not fire properly. I took it apart and noticed I could not look through the nipple. I ended up using a safety pin and oil to get all the crud out. How often should I clean the nipple out and is there an easier way? I cannot use 209 primers and have to use #11 primers in Oregon.
Just run that safety pin thru it every 10 shots or-so.... depending on how wet you make those swabbing patches & how often you swab. Also depends on the powder brand, what liquid you are using for swabbing,how much powder you use per shot & fouling accumulation forms from various designs of breechplugs and/or nipples -- making them all different in retrospect. Some nipples are hotters than others - that makes a difference also.

With so many variables to consider, the safety pin use every 10 shots seems like the best remedy -- less liquid on those swabbing patches seems like the 2nd best remedy.
Old 08-12-2006, 08:08 AM
Dominant Buck

silverstreak -