Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Kodiak Mag. ?

Old 01-18-2006, 01:45 PM

Default Kodiak Mag. ?

This year iwas thinking about anew 50 cal. kodiak magnum (cva) ....i know absolutely nothing about muzzle loaders. Is this a good gun, do i shoot power belts or sabots, whats the best grain bullet to shoot, is there their anyhting i need to know about this gun before i buy it? Thanks.
Old 01-18-2006, 02:26 PM

Default RE: Kodiak Mag. ?

The first thing I would is check your hunting regulations and see what are legal weapons for your state and what kind of bullets you can use. I have no experience with the Kodiak though.
Old 01-18-2006, 08:25 PM
Dominant Buck

It is almost impossible to say what projectilethe rifle will like to shoot best. What shoots good in one rifle might not shoot good in another identical style rifle. Generally speaking, CVA/BPI rifles shoot powerbelts good. You have to discover which weight and style of powerbelt it likes. Also you have to put up with the terrible price of the powerbelts.

Then again, the rifle might shoot XTP's or Shockwaves or who knows what. As for how good is the Kodiak, I don't own one. At one time I was going to buy one, they were selling them for $99.00 and I figured for that price I would own one. Trouble was they were sold out before I could get to one. I am not upset by that fact.

Some of the posters have found outstanding deals on T/C Omega Z5's at local Wal Marts. I would suggest you go that route if you want a break open type rifle. The Omega is a much better deal and rifle, IMO. Many of the Kodiak owners on the other hand like their rifles...
Old 01-18-2006, 11:34 PM
Typical Buck