Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Some test results

Old 01-11-2006, 07:11 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default Some test results

Well, I've tried several loads and I'm getting good results with the Triple 7. I didn't do this in as methodical a way as I could or should have perhaps but I'm no rocket scientist.
I really don't like Pyrodex due to the mess. I've been shooting it for over a year now with good results but I'm getting tired of the clean up.
My gun doesn't like APP or so it seems. I have gotten very mixed results so far.
With Triple 7 in 3F and shooting 80gr. I'm getting good groups with the Hogden Great Plains bullet in 385gr. 2" at 100yd. By far the most consistent groups. After reading Taquamenon's response to my "Test time" post I will drop down to 70gr. and see what my groups look like. Besides that 80gr. load has more kick than I am used to.
I may or may not continue my quest once I find a load I'm satisfied with. This is to be a hunting load for deer and hogs. I got tired of hitting hogs and not finding them and desire more knock down power than I was getting out of my old load. 80gr. Pyrodex select 245gr PB HP.
I'm having fun with this load work up but its expensive and time consuming. My wife thought she would have me back after hunting season. Now I think she may be ready to join me. Today she told me she wants a 30-30 for hogs.
Anyhow I'll let ya'll know how the rest works out.
BTW, I have found I don't much care for sabots. Hard to load the things. So I think to date my bullet choice may be made. I really like the Great Plains HP 385gr. I'll continue to try it with different loads of powder, APP or Triple 7. Maybe I'll try T7 in 2F, I'll decide tomorrow at the range after trying T7 3F at 70gr. See ya manana!
Old 01-11-2006, 07:33 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Some test results

txrookie