Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Help with Encore

Old 10-30-2005, 03:29 PM

Default Help with Encore

I own a TC encore with a muzzleloading 12guage barrel, absolutly love it. Recently purchased .50 cal barrel for it. I cant seem to seat TC maxiballs the same everytime. Im shooting loose Triple7 various grs. Im rather new to muzzleloading. I really want to stay with loose powder and all lead bullets. Any input please.
[hr]
Old 10-30-2005, 04:41 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Help with Encore

You might have to swab between shots. Also I am sure you are, but are the maxiball lubed? I had a neighbor stop over once and said he had a hard time loading maxiball so when I had him show me, I noticed he did not lube the bullet.

If you want to stick with big lead, look at the 460 grain No Excuse Conicals and start them around 80 grains of powder. They might shoot good. Also some Great Plains with a ballistic sub base might be a good combination.

Make sure you swab. Your rifle might be going through a breaking in period. Also the powder you are shooting is known for hard crud rings and they can cause loading problems. It is still one of the best powders out there, crud ring and all.. (besides Goex )
Old 10-31-2005, 03:44 AM

Thanks for the advice. The bullets are prelubed and slide nicly down the barrel untill about the last inch or two. Im not swabbing between shots didnt know that I should. Also Goex, is that a more user friendly powder?
Old 10-31-2005, 07:06 AM
Dominant Buck