Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 Encore suggestions??? >

Encore suggestions???

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

Encore suggestions???

Old 09-14-2005, 12:21 PM

Default Encore suggestions???

Just picked up an Encore 50 cal - stainless/syn. Put a Leupold 2.5 - 7 on it. I am new to the ml thing so just wondering if anyone has a set-up similar to this that can suggest a good load combination for me. I bought a box of triple 7 and pyrodex pellets for sighting it in. Used some Horniday 245gr bullets with the pyro to get it on paper. Tried some Powerbelts and the poi was WAY different. Are these things really that finicky? I am looking to hunt deer with it primarily - maybe antelope if it will hold a good group out to 200 yds. I was cleaning it about every 3 shots... seemed to work OK. Did not check theplug till after about 20 shots - that was almost a problem.Howoften should I check/clean that?

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks
Old 09-14-2005, 12:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Encore suggestions???

The only thing I know for sure about antelope is that one of 'em ate my paycheck once (literally).

But, you might try two (or maybe even three) 50 grain (by label) Pyrodex pellets under a 250 grain SST. Should shoot pretty flat and has been touted to be an excellent load by several people. I shoot mostly 275 grain Powerbelts in my .45 Encore (so I don't shoot it much) as they perform about as well as any load I've tried in that rifle... I don't shoot pellets though as they are simply TOO expensive compared to loose.