. It's going to be so cool we're taking the hourses up into the mountains, and I've always wanted to go. well now i'm going but I don't know much about it and I'm not much of..." />

Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 going huntin for some ELK!!!! >

going huntin for some ELK!!!!

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

going huntin for some ELK!!!!

Old 01-18-2005, 07:59 PM

Default going huntin for some ELK!!!!

in 2006 for my graduation present, my dad and I are going elk hunting in colorado. It's going to be so cool we're taking the hourses up into the mountains, and I've always wanted to go. well now i'm going but I don't know much about it and I'm not much of a cow girl either - lamens terms: I'm not good at riding horses. I tried it a few times but got thrown off. stupid horse
Old 01-18-2005, 09:38 PM

Default RE: going huntin for some ELK!!!!

that is awesome. I am from Alamosa, CO. Born and raised there. We also raised horses so I have been around a few in my days and have spent many a day riding in the mountains. You better get those butt muscles into shape or you will be hurtin. There is nothing better then letting a good horse carry you into the Colorado Mountains.
Old 01-19-2005, 08:12 AM

You will have the time of your life.
I raise and train quarter horses and harvested an elk in Colorado in '04. Too much fun. I am so excited for you and your father.
My advice would be simple. Make sure you're as prepared as possible for the altitude and relax when you are on the horse. I'm sure they'll be really broke and well-trained pack horses. Be thankful you didn't have to pack your whole elk out on your back with your guide - whew- that was an awesome experience in itself.
Enjoy yourself and best of luck to you!

Kimberly
Old 01-19-2005, 07:01 PM
Fork Horn

dewalts,

Check your pm. I am from Alamosa too.

cnhntr, Which part of CO will you hunt?