Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

1st caribou hunt

Old 10-08-2004, 10:53 AM

Default 1st caribou hunt

hello to all. I'm brand new to this forum hope I can get reassurance. I have just booked my very first caribou hunt with Jack Hume Adventures. It will take place the last week of august 05. While I have been on several guide big game hunts in the past and fully understand how things can go wrong. Can anyone else out there give me there thoughts or experiences with this outfitter. I have talked to several references and they had some good experiences.
Thanks In Advance.
Old 10-08-2004, 07:31 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: 1st caribou hunt

Cool laudy, I'm booked w/JHA for my first (& only) caribou hunt a couple of weeks after yours, Sept 9-15th, '05! I did a bunch of research on different 'bou outfitters before I made up my mind, so I feel fairly confident in my choice. But I've been dreaming of a 'bou hunt for 20 yrs, so any reassurances would be welcome here too

I hope you leave a couple nice bulls out there on the tundra for me!

Best luck to ya!!
Old 10-08-2004, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Never hunted with them but I lived in Quebec for 20 years and Jack Hume has been around for a long time and has a good reputation. Don't worry, enjoy your hunt.
Old 10-09-2004, 12:34 AM

Since you have already booked your hunt, isn't it a little late to be asking about the outfitter?
Old 10-09-2004, 10:58 AM
Nontypical Buck

Laudy....I've hunted caribou in Alaska, NWT and Quebec and have kicked around the hunting forums and talked to many hunters over the last few years... Hunting caribou can be a crapshoot..Sometimes you hit 'em big, sometimes you don't, as in any other type of hunting..