Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

First Elk Hunt !

Old 10-16-2015, 12:30 AM
Spike

Cool First Elk Hunt !

I have lived in CO for a little over a year now and have recently been invited to go on an DIY Public land elk hunt . I'm an avid white tail hunter back in TX were im from so I have plenty of gear but no experience in this kinda cold and altitude ! I'm very excited and ready to hit the trails but have absolutely no clue how elk behave or what they tend to do in weather and what times of day they move soon and so fourth . Is there anyone here that will be hunting second season rifle down in SW CO near gunnison? Just wondering how the elk are acting are they still in rut ? Still bugleing? should i get a bugle and cow call ? Im a believer in calling methods for bucks in texas and have had some success with rattling in the past . please feel free to school me any way you can . Thanks
Old 10-16-2015, 06:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Mostly you will see elk in the very early morning and just before dark and they will probably be in groups and not by themselves. Elk hunting methods change a great deal with weather and hunting pressure. If it is warm during the day hunt the South slopes and dark places like timber. Do your best to get away from the other orange jackets - that is what elk do.

You might hear some elk (or likely other hunters) bugle in second season but leave your bugle at home. Carry a cow call if you want. I normally do not carry any calls and have put a lot of elk in the freezer. I might carry a cow call if I plan to hunt the timber.

Most elk hunting is done by putting miles on your boots as opposed to sitting and waiting for a whitetail. Use the trails to access an area and then get off the trail to hunt. You can get by with a little noise but watch the wind. Carry good binoculars and use them.
Old 10-16-2015, 09:33 PM
Spike