Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
A First time elk hunt in unit 22 >

A First time elk hunt in unit 22

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

A First time elk hunt in unit 22

Old 08-11-2014, 12:45 PM
Spike

Default A First time elk hunt in unit 22

First off Hello everyone. This is my first time hunting... Ever. I am prior military (Army 11b) 6 yrs active 2 IR. I'll be using a .35 whelen imp. I moved to Colorado 2 years ago and my wife is stained at Buckley so we live in Aurora. Being I don't know many people I'll be going alone and rentinga truck. I gotta gps for on ground as well as sur Udall great for emergency and I'll be wearing all wool with wool base. Outside of being in shape (I continue to train, got a bit out of shape not much though) what should I know? I am unfamiliar with most of this sport. I have been researching. Being I work 65 hrs a week 6 daysa weeki don't have time to drive the 4 1/2hrs to recon the area. Is anyone familiar with that area? That's a lot of questions I apologize any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance, Jax
Old 08-25-2014, 08:34 AM
Giant Nontypical