Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Scope problems

Old 07-06-2003, 02:26 PM

Default Scope problems

I picked up a new rifle (browning a-bolt .338) for an upcoming elk trip this fall. Topped it with a leupold vx-II with leupold mounts and rings. I had it professionally mounted at a gunsmiths shop (the ' smith honed down the inside of the rings to take off any high spots and applied loc-tite to the screws). My problem is that while sighting in, I could not obtain a proper grouping. It would place 1 or 2 rounds properly, then the next round would be way off. I was shooting from a " sight vise" from a bench, so I know I had a steady rest. I have been shooting rifles for over 20 years and consider myself a decent shot. I discovered the problem to be that the screws (4) that hold the top of the rings as well as the scope down were all lose. Does this sound like something that I should take up with the ' smith? Or could this be a normal problem due to such a large caliber? Any products anyone knows about that may be a better solution than loc-tite? Any advice will be appreciated as I am more than a bit concerned.
Old 07-06-2003, 02:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Scope problems

Are you sure he put loc-tite on the rings screws? I bet he only put loc-tite on the base screws?
I would take the rilfe back to him & tell him what happened. Having a 338 shaking the screws loose is not a problem, as long as you get it fixed before your hunt.
Good luck,
Old 07-06-2003, 03:19 PM
Giant Nontypical

If the screws were loose it is because they were never tightened properly.I have never had screws loosen on any scope including those used on my 375H&H.Incidently using the so called shooting vise can cause problems in itself.Not allowing the rifle to recoil normally can result in a different point of impact.
Old 07-06-2003, 04:29 PM