Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 Mid October Elk Hunting Techniques? >

Mid October Elk Hunting Techniques?

Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Mid October Elk Hunting Techniques?

Old 10-21-2008, 08:00 PM

Default Mid October Elk Hunting Techniques?

I'm going to be going out with a buddy to help him try to find an elk. I'm new to modern firearm elk hunting. I always hunt in September (Archery). Do the bulls still bugle and are they able to be cow called in still or is it mainly find the feeding and watering grounds and spot and stalk? Any help is greatly appreciated Thanks
Old 10-21-2008, 08:31 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Mid October Elk Hunting Techniques?

well the rut is over in early october and a budy of mine thats up hunting in second rifle is still hearing bulls and cows so has of right now they may still respond to you but chances are not nearly as good
Old 10-21-2008, 09:39 PM

Iwould get into a place were you know there aresome bulls and give some cow calls maybe some small grunts.You might get a bull to come insillent hoping to pick upone last cow. Mid to theend of october is nothing likemid september, but you still have a chance of callinga bullin, you just have to find the rightbull.Good luck.
Old 10-21-2008, 10:09 PM

Yea I know calling won't be nearly the same I was just wondering if there is a chance at all.. I'm pretty good with the bugle and cow call so maybe I'll coax a young bull or old bull into trying to get one of the last cows of the season
Old 10-22-2008, 06:31 AM
Typical Buck

Start walking....
Old 10-22-2008, 06:57 AM
Fork Horn