Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Colorado elk hunting

Old 04-17-2008, 01:58 PM
Spike

Default Colorado elk hunting

Hi everyone just joined after reading some of the forums as a guest. I have been banging my head against the wall for a week now trying to figure out a place in colorado to go elk hunting with an over the counter tag. I have been applying in Wyoming unit 7 for 5 years now and yet to draw a tag. Have as many pref point aspossible but failed to draw again this year. Two years ago after failing to draw I went to Idaho with a group after not drawing in Wy.and saw 1 elk in 5 days and it was dead in the basin shot by my buddy. That is the only elk hunt I have been on and am excited about going again. I am a true greenhorn.....to elk hunting. Me and a buddy are wanting to go to colorado during the second rifle season. We are willing to put in the effort to hike off the main trails to get away from the crowds. I have went through the harvest stats and elk numbers and read the info on colo. web site on the units and have used my eastmans hunting journal mrs sections to try to narrow my search. Am considering units 14,444,47,70,71. I dont expect anyone to give up there hot spots, just asking for info on these units as far as a couple of greenhorns hopefully seeing some elk and not getting themselves in to a spot that is over our heads. Any info would be appreciated. Just want to hunt elk.
Old 04-17-2008, 02:36 PM

Default RE: Colorado elk hunting