Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Where to Hunt Elk?

Old 09-30-2007, 06:43 PM
Fork Horn

Default Where to Hunt Elk?

If you had a chance to hunt elk once in your lifetime where and when would you go? I have not ever hunted elk so I am looking at a guided hunt. Don't have time to spend 2 or 3 weeks learning an area and learning animal habits etc., so I want to make the most of the week I will have. I am also looking for the total experience of a western wilderness hunt, so I would prefer a pack in horseback situation where you would most likely not see another hunter. (another reason for a guide, I don't have horses or this type of equipment)

I appreciate any advice etc as I am just beginning the information gathering process. If it takes a few years to draw that is OK as well, I will begin applying in 08.
Old 09-30-2007, 08:39 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Where to Hunt Elk?

I chose to do my hunt in BC for all the reasons you mentioned. They've got a 6-point rule, so if you score, it's likely to be a nice animal.

I got hooked up with an outfitter that not only had a top notch setup, but a true love of his particular territory, and the game, and the sport.

When I got skunked last Fall in my 1st outing with them, I knew I'd be back. And when I scored a really good bull this Fall, I knew that I'd earned that critter. I took him on foot, & we went back with packhorses to the the quarters.

I'd be glad to pass on more if you're interested: PM me.

FC
Old 10-01-2007, 12:58 PM
Spike

I just got back from a wilderness hunt in the Gila Mountains of New Mexico, and it would definitely satisfy what you are looking for. You pack in on horseback about 10-15 miles, then hunt from horseback from a camp set up on a mesa.