Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Silent bulls

Old 09-09-2007, 09:14 PM

Default Silent bulls

So archery season has started up here in washington and I'm dealing with some silent bulls.. I'm in an area with so much elk sign it's not funny.. Rubs, tracks, trails, and poop EVERYWHERE. However they won't bugle, I dont think they are rutting very hard yet and the bugles that we hear are just social ones. My question is how do I hunt these bulls. I'm new to archery so I'm not used to hunting the pre-rut. I think the Elk are fairly nomadic right now so they might just not be in this certain area, and could show up sometime later on. Anyways thanks for the tips in advance fellas.
Old 09-09-2007, 11:16 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Silent bulls

Clinty, the bulls here in southern OR are usually silent. Mostly I think from guys running around on quads bugleing at every stop. I even heard one this year that was cow calling as he was riding his quad down the trail.

What seems to work for me is to get into an area with a large concentration of elk, get set up and cow call. Usually some lost cow calls mixed with some estreus calls mixed in. Definately use some type of cover scent because they will almost always circle down wind to check things out first.

Listen for other signs that a bull is in the area. Last year we had a 5x6 that wouldnt make a sound other than raking the trees with his antlers. That bull was shot at 6 yards and believe it or not he got inside 25 yards before we even knew he was there.

I have never tried a ground blind for elk but I would assume that it would work, being as dry and noisy as it is this year I actually used a tree stand and took a cow on the last day that I was able to hunt.

Good luck and I know silent bulls are tough but it can be done.

Bill
Old 09-10-2007, 01:34 PM
Nontypical Buck