Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

Why bear hunt?

Old 04-18-2007, 10:35 AM

Default Why bear hunt?

I'm new to colorado and my hunting doors have opened, from the tradutional whitetail and turkey to a plethera of game. I'm very anxious to start elk hunting in a few years as well as mule deeer and possibly moose. i just don't understand why people bear hunt. it jsut seems like you wait in a stand and shoot it when it comes to the bait. i may be missing something and probably am, but why do you bear hunt. can you eat the meat, i've been told it's bad and has a high probability of having worms or parasites.
Old 04-18-2007, 12:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Why bear hunt?

It's illegal to bair bear in CO. for starters. And someone has to manage the herd.
Old 04-18-2007, 12:20 PM

There are more ways to hunt bear than sitting on a stand. Spot and stalk is the best way in my mind. But, you are right about the meat. It is very nasty and I won't eat it, I guess thats why I've never went on a bear hunt. I've carried bear tags on other hunts, just on the occurence that I ran across a nice one though.