Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

[Deleted]

Old 01-12-2002, 09:07 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-12-2002, 09:18 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-12-2002, 09:19 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-12-2002, 09:22 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-12-2002, 10:47 PM

Default RE: Attention all elk hunters. I have a question.....

Good question. I like cow calls. I am new to elk hunting and am not very good at making the cow mews. So I don`t call very often. Like only when trying to stop a moving animal.

Fisherking has an excellent point about bad calls running the elk off. Elk know what other elk sound like. Last season, I ran into one guy who was in love with his cow call. He blew it all the time. The problem was that he was horrible...instead of the "EEE-ooh" sound he went "squeak-quack". LOUDLY AND OFTEN.

I think that if you practice a lot, then the cow call might be the best bet. It is really versitile in the sounds you can make: calf sounds right up to the lead cow screech. I used the Primos hyper lip single last year. Last week I bought a little tiny bite call called the Original Cow Talk from E.L.K. Inc. Very easy to use. Don`t know if it is still being made since I bought it from a shop that was going out of business and the call looked like it had been there a long time.

Good luck!

The Mouse
Old 01-12-2002, 11:08 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-13-2002, 04:57 AM

You didn't say "when" you were going to be calling.
Bugleing will work on bulls (cows too) during the rut but cow calls work year round for cows and bulls
wyote

Edited by - wyote on 01/13/2002 06:03:05
Old 01-13-2002, 05:28 AM