Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

I'm stoked fellas.

Old 06-05-2006, 10:42 AM

Default I'm stoked fellas.

I just found out that I drew my first elk tag ever!!!!!!!!

I know for some people that's not that big of a feat, but here in South Dakota, people wait for years to get a tag.

I've been hunting for 26 of my 31 years of my life and the biggest thing I've ever shot was a Mule Deer. This was my 4th year of attempting to draw an Elk tag.

I've got a lot of learning to do between now and October and I know the best advice is going to come from people with experience as opposed to those who are trying to sell something.

So if you've got some basic advice that might help shorten up my learning curve, I would appreciate it.
Old 06-05-2006, 01:22 PM

Default RE: I'm stoked fellas.

Beyond the typical get in really good shape advice my best advice would be to buy ElkNut's videos. They are great! I bought a set and watch them quite a bit. I learn something that I missed with almost each viewing. They are the best "how-to" videos I've ever seen.

I'm sure some others will give you some great advice. there are Somevery knowledgeable folks on here. Just remember if someone posts total bs on here the others will call them out so take everything with a little salt.
Old 06-05-2006, 03:08 PM
Fork Horn

Be prepared ,, for suchsituation awarnesses as this.

Old 06-05-2006, 03:51 PM

Don't really have to much advice to offer on Elk...but good luck and congrats!
Old 06-05-2006, 07:06 PM
Nontypical Buck