Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Big Game Hunting
 WHAT TO CARRY ON A MOUNTAIN BLACK BEAR HUNT >

WHAT TO CARRY ON A MOUNTAIN BLACK BEAR HUNT

Community
Big Game Hunting Moose, elk, mulies, caribou, bear, goats, and sheep are all covered here.

WHAT TO CARRY ON A MOUNTAIN BLACK BEAR HUNT

Old 05-22-2006, 11:17 AM

Default WHAT TO CARRY ON A MOUNTAIN BLACK BEAR HUNT

HEY EVERYONE I AM NEW TO THE WHOLE BEAR HUNTING ORDEAL I NEED TO KNOW WHAT ALL I SHOULD CARRY ON MY BEAR HUNT I HAVE COMING UP SOON. ALSO DO YOU THINK THAT A .270 WOULD SURFICE?
Old 05-22-2006, 01:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: WHAT TO CARRY ON A MOUNTAIN BLACK BEAR HUNT

When, where, overbait, guided, solo, duration ?????????

Bobby
Old 05-23-2006, 03:30 AM

OUR BEAR SEASON IS USUALLY LATE OCTOBER, THIS YEAR SEASON BEGINS THE THIRD WEEK OF OCTOBER AND RUNS FOR 15-16 DAYS IN PICKENS COUNTY SOUTH CAROLINA (MAINLY HUNTING NUISANCE BEAR HUNTING) UNFORTUNANTLY IT IS ILLEGAL IN SOUTH CAROLINA TO HUNT ANY GAME ANIMAL IN THAT AREA OVER BAIT... BUT DEER SEASON GOES OUT A DAY OR TWO BEFORE BEAR SEASON COMES IN AND UP THERE, THERE IS NO WAY TO GET EVERY PART OF A DEER OFF OF THE MOUNTAIN. THE HUNTS ARE EITHER GROUP HUNTS AND OR INDIVIDUAL AND THERE ARE NO GUIDES IN SOUTH CAROLINA THAT ARE REALLY WORTH THE MONEY... OUR STILL HUNT SEASON RUNS RIGHT AROUND9 DAYSAND RUNNING SEASON IS APPROX. 6 DAYS. SO IN OTHER WORDS I WILL BE UP THERE FOR ABOUT 12 DAYS FOR SCOUTING AND CAMP SITE CLEAN UP. THE GOOD THING IS I WILL BE ABLE TO DRIVE TO THE BASE CAMP AND I WILL BE TAKING MY 2500 LONG BED AND MY TRAILER FOR THE FOUR-WHEELER WHICH WILL PROBABLY WILL BE LOADED WITH COOLERS AND THE CAMPING GEAR. THE MAIN THING IS CARRYING JUST ENOUGH SUPPLIES FOR 4 PEOPLE AND NOT OVER PACK CAUSE IT IS RIGHT AT AN HOUR TO THE CLOSEST STORE IF WE ABSOLUTLY NEED SOMETHING I.E. FEMININE PRODUCTS FOR MY FIANCEE AND MT HUNTING PARTNERS WIFE.

WOULDA .270 WITH EITHER 130 OR 140 GRAINS BALLISTIC SILVER TIP SURFICE?