HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Worst Nightmare Weekend--Story
View Single Post
Old 11-15-2004, 07:16 AM
supaarcher

Default Worst Nightmare Weekend--Story

This last weekend was my last chance for Bowhunting this year, I went up to Ladysmith, Wisconsin.

I could make this story waaay too long so i will try to keep it short.
I have been passing up small bucks for the last 4 years. Even though I could have shot probobly 20 bucks in these last 4 years, I have been waiting for the big one. This weekend the bucks were running hard! We were seeing several of them running around! Friday at 11 AM I had a 6 pointer walk past me, and then Friday afternoon I finally seen the Biggen! I watched this brute make a big loop around me, cross-checking trails, nose tight to the ground, and he did not care about my grunt calls or anyting. I watched him for ten minutes, and then right before dark he headed into the slashings where I had previously heard another buck grunting away. Shortly after he entered the slashings, I could here them fighting hard! It was getting dark so I snuck out of there for the night.

The next morning I woke up with the worst headache I had ever had, and was pretty sick, But I went out there anyways, had a terrible start to my morning, didn't get out there until after light, and set up my climber close to the slashings where the 2 bucks were fighting the night before. As soon as I got up in the tree and get set up I could here a deer coming. I looked over and a spike cam all the way in and walked around underneath me and left. I couldn't believe he didn't smell me becuase I was still sweating. (it was 10 degrees out and i had too much clothing on for the long walk) after he left I heard another deer coming and that one was a small 8 pointer that was working the trails looking for does as well. I let him go too.