HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - H&r .243
Thread: H&r .243
View Single Post
Old 09-08-2011, 01:28 PM
hometheaterman
Nontypical Buck

I have never owned one of these luckily, but I have lots of experience with one, and I couldn't recommend it to anyway. A friend got one for his daughter in .243. Actually his was the NEF, but they are essentially the same. He traded another rifle for it, and the fact that he traded a $650 gun for it aside, the gun is a POS and that's the nicest way to put it. His daughter hates it and didn't want it in the first place, but for some reason he refused to listen to her and insisted he knew what was best for her.

When they first started shooting it, the action would randomly kick open after a shot and eject the spent shell right in your face. They gave it a thorough cleaning, and it did it some, so they messed with it some more, and finally got it to stop doing this, at least for right now. I don't really trust it as it's only been shot 35 times or so since they got this issue sorted out. I did a google search on this issue to see if I could come up with ideas for them, and it was one review after another saying that theirs did this, so obviously it's a very common and very serious issue. The best fix seemed to be to keep the bolt face completely dry, and to hope it didn't do it.