HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - We talkin bout PRACTICE....
View Single Post
Old 01-17-2008, 02:55 PM
buckeye
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: We talkin bout PRACTICE....

ORIGINAL: GMMAT

I have not shot any practice except for 2 rounds before the league started...I did however go shoot indoor 3D last weekend.
Impressive scores, nonetheless, Scott.

Do you find that this type shooting (paper) helps your 3D shooting......a little?......a lot?......Tremendously? What about when you first started?

I'm a beginner at targets.....in reality.

Yes and no... I believe it helps by keeping form in tune and muscle conditioning....

However I find it a hindrance as it does not help me "aim" on foam...... I feel I was having trouble at the indoor 3D from not shooting 3D since the HNI get-together and getting used to having a defined aiming point on the paper.... I was having trouble committing to the shot at the indoor 3D which lead to a rather poor showing.....

I never shot a full round of Vegas until last years league.... I have shot the face quite a few times previous but never a "game". NFAA 5 spot is the game of choice around here.... It is the game I have shot by far the most.

I was not good when I first started and improved very little the first year I shot a league..... My high score the first year may have been low 280's..... Low score low to mid 260's..... I had very poor form and no follow thru at all.... Looking back I was a wreck [&:]

I am self taught in all aspects of hunting and archery and did not have the luxury of a website like this to get me on the right track back then..... I got bit by the "3D bug" and I took to it rather well and started winning almost every local HC shoot half way or so thru my first year of competing...... That confidence and practice led to much improved indoor scores the following year...