HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - $428 for a deer license in iowa now
View Single Post
Old 05-08-2005, 01:20 PM
Liv4Rut
Spike

Default RE: $428 for a deer license in iowa now

Deerslayer,

We have disagreed on this topic before, and probably never will agree fully on it. I am in my fourth year of college in Iowa, hunting is my passion, I drive around every night watching deer wildlife and etc. I usually drive around 60-80 miles during that drive around some prime deer country. I have no numbers for you on how much land Non-Residents own, but what I do know, is that during that 60-80 mile drive, I have asked countless farmers to hunt with the same Response, NO!!. It doesn't bother me, I do not blame anyone for not letting me hunt, it is their land and their right to give permission to hunt that land. So now I hunt mainly all public land, which it isn't that bad, I don't mind the challenge of out-hunting the hunters that already hunt the same land as me. I have learned that it is hard for a guy to go out and gain access to land first-hand. The area I have been asking permission is mainly Iowa Residents. The typical response was either, I don't allow any hunting or I already have someone hunting. It's no big deal to me, but the point im trying to make that in my area it is Damn hard to gain land to hunt. Your main beef for all your posts is that you own land and you should be able to hunt. That is true, your dad does own land, but yet you still have to draw just like all the other Non-residents.

Now, let me ask other Non-residents of this site. Do you guys think that deerslayer should get a tag over you because his dad owns land and pays taxes in iowa? Or do you think that both of you should have an equal chance in the drawing to hunt iowa?