Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Black Powder
 getting your ML ready for a hunt >

getting your ML ready for a hunt

Community
Black Powder Ask opinions of other hunters on new technology, gear, and the methods of blackpowder hunting.

getting your ML ready for a hunt

Old 07-29-2007, 10:17 PM

Default getting your ML ready for a hunt

ok i am new at this so please excuse my ignorance.. i have had my omega at the range three times now and it seems like tha groups get tighter after 3-4 shots i watched the tc video that came with my gun and have been swabbing between shots and then using bore butter right before i put it up but my gun seems to like a little fouling in the barrel was wondering what to do when it comes time to hunt any suggestions????
Old 07-29-2007, 11:07 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: getting your ML ready for a hunt

Clearly, it's the first shot that counts in a hunting situation.

I hate hunting with a fouled barrel, though with some guns it's necessary because you just can't find a "clean barrel load".

It can take a lot of experimenting, but I try to find a bullet and load combination that will put the first shotfrom aclean barrelwithin two inches of the 100 yardpoint of aimevery time*. I know - I'm talking about a 4-inch group. Believe me, if you hit within two inches in any direction from your point of aim it will be plenty good enough. You can use one inch if you want.

Finding this kind ofload requires that you fully clean (or come pretty close to fully clean)and dry the barrel after each shot during your range session so that every shot is a "first shot". It's a pain. But once you find the golden load, you can hunt with a clean barrel with confidence. If you don't get a shot, you can leave the load in the gununtil next week, or next month, without concern.