Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Corn bad for deer....question

Old 11-18-2003, 06:58 AM
Spike

Default Corn bad for deer....question

Reading about supplemental feeding etc I see everywhere where people are saying that feeding corn is bad for or will kill deer. Im only asking this as Im not an expert and thought of this question but....What is the difference between supplemental feeding corn and deer that live in/near large cornfields and gorge themselves on it? I would guess that when it is available, that is their primary food source so using the same theory that corn will kill deer I would think that there would be alot of dead deer in agricultural areas where corn is grown as there is an almost unlimited supply for a few months of the year there??

Like I said, not being scarcastic, just trying to see the difference.

D
Old 11-18-2003, 02:40 PM

Default RE: Corn bad for deer....question

Corn is kinda like candy to Deer. . .not to much good stuff for them, low in protein etc. So while it attracts them well, if you really want to feed them and develope better racks, body size etc. then you have to plant food plots or feed more specialized foods.
Old 11-18-2003, 05:25 PM
Boone & Crockett

I' ve had a gravity feeder in my backyard for over 5 years with corn in it. The deer will come out and eat maybe a handful apiece at a time. I also maintain a green field out back and have a number of acorn trees as well as other natural foods available. If you had them in a pen and the only feed available for them was corn, then they would probably die.
Old 11-18-2003, 07:37 PM
Nontypical Buck