Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Central Wisconsin food plots

Old 06-26-2023, 05:44 PM
Spike

Default Central Wisconsin food plots

I’m rather new to the food plot farming. I own 37 acres in southern Wood county. Currently I have two plots, both just under a half acre. The one in question was planted last fall with winter rye, which is now mature and I believe unless to deer. I bought a mix called buck bouya I believe to use this summer. My question is what to do with the standing rye. Do I put down my new seed, cut the rye and roll it? Or do I need to spray it and till it under, then seed and roll? I know it’s important to keep the top layer of soil with everything being Sandy. I appreciate any advice.
Old 06-27-2023, 01:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm right next door in southern Clark Co. I put winter wheat/rye in last fall and, like yours, it matured. It's an annual crop so there's no need to spray it. I just worked it in when preparing the seed bed. If some of the seed sprouts, its just additional to the stuff I planted.
Old 06-28-2023, 04:34 PM
Spike

Thank you very much. The reason I ask is that I’m hearing so much about not tilling and just spreading seed and rolling or crimping the standing rye. Using it as a “mulch”. Did you cut yours before working it into the soil?
Old 06-29-2023, 01:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

No, I didn't cut it. My neighbor just disked it in. Frankly, it wasn't planted thick enough to act as an effective mulch. Afterward I spread the new seed and went over it with a garden rake to cover it. My neighbor then went over it with a cultipacker to insure good ground contact. This all happened just before a good rain. It couldn't have worked out better. I had phenomenal germination. And now I see that some of the worked in rye or wheat has germinated.
Old 06-29-2023, 05:06 PM
Spike