Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Wildlife Management / Food Plots
Food plot and feeders not bringing in deer >

Food plot and feeders not bringing in deer

Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Food plot and feeders not bringing in deer

Old 11-01-2018, 04:43 PM
Spike

Default Food plot and feeders not bringing in deer

Hello, I am new to the world of food plots and I have recently planted about a 10th acre on my land. Broke ground and used throw and grow mix. It is about 2 months old and flourishing. Only problem is that I have only seen deer on cam for about a two day period. Hidden camera aimed at the majority of the food plot and between two gravity corn feeders. I have seen turkey, crows and coons but very rare deer. I have seen deer about a hundred yards away consistently but they don't come to the plot... Any suggestions or tricks. I have thought about adding some urine and salt licks but haven't gotten that far yet. Ever since I added the corn feeders, no deer. I did spray paint the PVC pipe black... Could the smell of the paint be a deterrent? My plot of land is 60 acres. 1/2 wooded and half crap grass field. All strip mined about 50 years ago. Nothing seems to keep the deer on the land and I'm trying my best to populate before rifle season.
Attached Thumbnails Food plot and feeders not bringing in deer-turkeys.jpg  
Old 11-01-2018, 09:12 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have some ideas, Deer spook when something new and unfamiliar happens, strange noises, strange smells, strange motion. They get used to most of it over time, tractors don't spook my Deer at all, vehicles spook them little, chain saws little.
When the jogging fad hit, my Deer disappeared, they would abandoned their fawns, many died. Same thing happened when the mountain bike craze hit. It took them a long time to get over these new irritations.