Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

Rye grass Good or Bad?

Old 09-14-2015, 05:05 AM
Spike

Default Rye grass Good or Bad?

I am from upstate NY. Its my first time planting a food plot. I used plot spike quick stand no-till forage, Throw & Grow Extreme forage mixture, And winterpz wildlife mixture. The plot spike says it has RYE GRASS, PRINE TETRAPLOID 87%. And the throw & Grow says 82% MAXIMUS TETRAPLOID ANNUAL RYE GRASS. After planting I see a lot of guys saying not to plant any rye grass! saying the deer don't like it and it takes over food plots? What's your guys opinion on these 2 rye grasses?
Old 09-16-2015, 12:18 PM
Typical Buck

Hunted down in Texas several years back and they had a mixture of rye & oats and the deer seemed to like it. This was on a Weyhauser tree plantation with an on staff biologist. Based on that I would say the rye is fine but don't have any followup experience.
Old 09-16-2015, 06:13 PM
Boone & Crockett

There is rye grass and there is winter rye. Winter rye is grain rye: Deer love the stuff. This year i will plant winter rye food plots five different locations. Winter rye is very cold hardy and drought tolerant. It will grow and thrive in a variety of soils.

http://www.growbrutebucks.com/info.php?id=46
Old 09-18-2015, 06:29 PM
MZS
Typical Buck

The rye grass in your plot mix is a perennial - it is a grass. Winter rye is an annual grain - you plant in fall, it comes up green with foot high blades similar to lawn grass. Then in spring it continues to grow up to 3 ft and yields its grain, and dies. Deer love the Winter Rye - the downfall is you must replant each year. Winter rye stays green even under the snow, so in late fall it is the only green thing around.
Old 11-21-2016, 12:40 PM
Fork Horn