Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

food plot questions

Old 02-18-2013, 02:22 AM
Fork Horn

Default food plot questions

was thinking about trying to do a food plot. maybe some clover or something else. i was looking for something with not much maintenance and no machinery. i was just going to go in and rake a spot and clear the brush etc. do i rake in the seeds or just throw them on top? im new to this. i live in massachusetts there is snow on the ground now. when do i do this? obviously when snow is gone. if i plant something in march when will i see it? the following year or in fall? any advice would be great and this spot does get alot of sun. also any advice on what to plant alot of people say antler king.
Old 02-18-2013, 05:19 AM
Fork Horn

A few years back I used some stuff that they call No-Plow. It seemed to work just fine. Didn't have to do much prep work. Just raked the ground up to loosen the dirt for germination and there was no maintenance. Can't tell u much more about it because I only used once. I'm gonna put a food plot in this spring and I plan on taking a soil sample and having it tested so I can plant the right thing. If No-Plow will be fine for the PH level of the soil, that's probably what I will I use. Every bag of food plot seed tells you when to plant the seed in your region. Just check out the back of the bag. That will answer some of your questions. I haven't planted a lot of food plots, but I've read a lot of articles and they have helped. In fact I just read a great article yesterday in my most recent North American Whitetail magazine. Check it out.
Old 02-18-2013, 05:52 AM
Fork Horn

Hey bigmstr127, I just went on Whitetail Institute of North America and read up on some products they have. They will also help you out in choosing the right seed. Good luck. www.whitetailinstitute.com
Old 03-24-2013, 10:23 AM
Nontypical Buck