Community
Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

is 1/2 acre enough???

Old 05-11-2008, 04:14 PM

Default is 1/2 acre enough???

im workinjg on planting a food plot (imperial clover) in a field,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the space i have is not limited to 1/2 acre but i dont want to spent tons of money on something since this is my first time planting a plot.so is 1/2 acre for a food plot enough to attract and hold deer????

Old 05-11-2008, 05:42 PM

Default RE: is 1/2 acre enough???

actually what i mean what is the smallest size plot i can make to hold deer and attract them????
Old 05-11-2008, 07:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Yes that will attract deer. However depending on the size of your heard it probably won't sustain them. Nonetheless it surely won't hurt!
Old 05-11-2008, 07:31 PM

so it would give me a way better chance at getting a deer next year/?
Old 05-11-2008, 08:47 PM

1/2 acre is a good food plot, that is especially big enough if you plan to bow hunt it, if you got a good deer heard in your general area that will attract them.
Old 05-12-2008, 09:25 AM
Spike

You should think about adding chicory in with your clover. I think Imperial Clover is a mix of different types but I'm not sure what types. You can mix clovers that are better at different times of the year for the deer. And adding Chicory will make them even more appealing and better late in the year.

First and for most take a soil sample and get some fertilizer recommendations for what you are planting. Take a look at our small food plots on our website and see what we did with them, seed, cost of everything and progress. www.myarcheryhunt.com
And remember the the first year isn't going to be a miracle year, the second will start to bring more deer in and hold them there.
Old 05-12-2008, 12:11 PM
Spike