Wildlife Management / Food Plots This forum is about all wildlife management including deer, food plots, land management, predators etc.

plotmaster

Old 11-03-2005, 08:39 PM
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 13
Default plotmaster

Has anybody used one, got one, or can give some good info on if they are worth it. I am thinking of getting one to start a business venture. Plowing small gardens, food plots etc.
bigtop is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 08:11 PM
  #2  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NE PA
Posts: 282
Default RE: plotmaster

Try renting one from Cabelas. The one in Hamburg Pa., rents them and other equipment.
270sniper is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 10:04 PM
  #3  
Boone & Crockett
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ponce de Leon Florida USA
Posts: 10,079
Default RE: plotmaster

I have heard some negative things about that type implement, not necessarily a Plotmaster, but that type of implement. Lots of stuff there that can tear up. If you have well prepared soil they might work OK, but I don't think you can take unprepared areas and use them like the ads insinuate, especially grassy land and hard soils. Forless money I had rather have a good disc, a 3 point mount seed spreader and a drag harrow. Then you can use the disc for other uses, top off your plots with Ammo-nite or other fertilizers, etc. A 6 foot or so drag harrow behind a 4 wheeler will cover a plot up in no time and the seed won't be too deep.
timbercruiser is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:08 AM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Malvern Arkansas USA
Posts: 2,246
Default RE: plotmaster

Big Top

Perhaps this will help

http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=1139724

Thanks
Mr-Pirk
mr-pirk is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 10:37 AM
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 23
Default RE: plotmaster

I own a 4' plotmaster and I absolutely love it! I have a tractor and 6' disc, but you can do so much more with the plotmaster. New areas and hardpan take a little more time, but the plotmaster is a lot heavier than my disc, so it breaks ground better. The only other implement you need is a way to cut the grass and weeds and rake them out. I am going to sell the 4' model and buy a 6' model that will work behind my tractor. To buy a heavy duty disc that will take the punishment that my plotmaster has taken, I have to spend almost as much as the plotmaster. This is the best implement I have ever used for planting food plots. The first time you clear land for plots is hard with any implement. After the first year, replanting and maintaining the plots is easy.
Dufus1964 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 10:05 PM
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 76
Default RE: plotmaster

Ditto on the Plotmaster. Two years and running on my 4' model. I've worked it hard and it is one very tough piece of steel. I recommend 600cc or larger ATV since it is very heavy (600 lbs).
bagem is offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:36 PM
  #7  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Waynesboro Georgia USA
Posts: 1,113
Default RE: plotmaster

Anybody try to make their own? I was thinking about making one simular to a Plotmaster. Welding up a frame on the top and back side of a disc and try to adapt a drill to it.

I have no ideas on where to get started. I have a disc but have never used a drill or really been around oneto know how they work.
mike bell is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.