HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Wildlife Management / Food Plots (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots-11/)
-   -   Deer Feeder Recipe (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/wildlife-management-food-plots/104097-deer-feeder-recipe.html)

kshunter 06-28-2005 10:50 AM

Deer Feeder Recipe

This weekend I'm setting up a deer feeder next to my parents house, so they can watch the deer(and will help the hunting). I've never used feeders before, but i'm planning on picking up some bags of corn and a bag or two of alfalfa pellets, from the coop. I thought I'd mix them together. The feeder will hold 225 lbs. Any other suggestions beside these 2, which you've had good success with? Thanks

Rebel Hog 06-28-2005 11:54 AM

RE: Deer Feeder Recipe

Ks, I add 25lbs of sweet feed(horse feed)to the mixture.
It's oats with molasses. Deer love it.

Tree climber 06-28-2005 03:31 PM

I only use corn and have for the last 15 years. the only thing with mixing other things with the corn, is moisture and molasses in the feeds.it sometimes sticks it all together, and want come out of the feeder.
the deer will come to the corn , just as good alone as with other things added.thats what I have found.they do make dry mixes that you can pour into the feeder to add smell to it. it comes in peanut,peanutbutter,and soy.I couldn't tell any difference when I add it or when I didn't.

you could get the molasses and pour it on a stump or in a container.a friend that lives next to the state park has a feeder made like a box,they pour corn and horse feed into it each day. they have 15 or 20 deer at a time around it.

Tuffbroadhead 06-28-2005 03:49 PM