Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

The ultimate newbie here...

Old 04-12-2005, 04:05 PM

Default The ultimate newbie here...

I'll give you a little background. Well, I've been very interesting in hunting since I was old enough to shoot. My firearm experience is as follows (all still targets, i.e. heart not pounding) 3500 pistol rounds, 1000 rimfire rounds, who knows how many airgun, 2500 shotgun rounds (most of these are skeet and sporting clay). I'm 5'9" and weigh 150-155 lbs. I am moving to the Seattle, WA area in Oct. and have decided to start hunting and fishing. My dad wasn't able to show me the basics, faq type questions, since he was always out of town. I'm just asking for basics from rifle selection (currently looking at Rem. 700 BDL SS) to hunting techniques. I'd like to hunt deer/elk/cougar when I move to WA.

Thanks in advance,
-Barry-

P.S. Very nice message board you have here, one of the best/most informative I've seen. I've been lurking for quite some time.
Old 04-12-2005, 04:19 PM

Default RE: The ultimate newbie here...

I should add this:

The rifle is a 7mm mag. I've been told by others on my boat (I'm currently on a submarine in GA, but the boat is moving around to WA) that the 7mm mag. will more than cover any deer/elk/cougar I come across out to distances more than anyone should shoot.

I'm also looking for info on equipment, not just technique/strategy. Anything from stands to clothes. I'm about to buy a new GPS unit, a Magellan Explorist 600. I've done so much research and have finally found one I like.
Old 04-12-2005, 04:29 PM

Sorry, but I keep having ideas...haha!

Here's another rifle I'm looking at.

Savage Arms Weather Warrior. Same caliber but it just seems like this rifle has many more features, fluted barrel and muzzle break. Is this a, 'get what you pay for kind of thing?" I don't want something cheap.