Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

hunting vs. killing

Old 04-06-2005, 08:03 PM

Default hunting vs. killing

this may or may not have been brought up before, but here it goes. do people hunt anymore? or do we just sit in blinds and kill deer over bait? i know you elk hunters walk your butt off. but is taking a 500 yard shot really hunting or sniping? i know there is a magnum craze going on right now, but do you really need that much gun? i have been hunting in pennsylvania for 13 years now. i have strictly used a 30-30 to take 13 deer. i have now upgraded (or modernized) to a 7mm-08. the 30-30 was more than enough gun for every deer i have taken. all shot 100 yrds or less. i take one deer a year because that is all i can eat. i know some people eat more and that is fine in my opinion. i used to watch these hunting shows on tv, and see those guys in there blinds hunting over bait. do they eat there deer? when is the sport taken out of hunting? i will not shoot bear beacause i will not eat it. that is how i was brought up i guess. it just frustrates me to see people shoot a bear, deer, elk, etc. for no other reason other than to sell a product, or just for the sake of shooting it, or having another trophy to hang on the wall. i can understand someone wanting to go on a hunt of their life. paying a lot of money for it, and getting there trophy. where do you draw the line for hunting. imho, hunting is when you stand at a tree all day rain, snow, wind, waiting for that buck to walk by. or stalking for hours to get that perfect shot. getting up close and personal with the animal. not sitting in your cozy cabin with a fresh bag of deer chow of peanut butter. maybe i was just raised different than other people. my father is the best deer hunter i have ever seen. perfect shot and cool under pressure. he has shot just about everything in