Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How necessary is a stand?

Old 11-07-2004, 01:14 AM

Default How necessary is a stand?

I'm sure this is a huge debate amongst hunters, but since I am brand new to the sport I need some education. How important is it to use a stand. I am not the kind of guy who is going to try stalking a deer (not yet atleast, I need to learn more about them first). My style so far seems to be to find a spot that looks promising and sit down on the ground and wait for a deer.

I know this style is probably flawed in many ways, but would a stand help me out a ton in this situation? Is on the ground OK? I've read some of the benefits to using a stand and it seems like the way to go. I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

Thanks,

Matt
Old 11-07-2004, 01:32 AM

Default RE: How necessary is a stand?

I think stands are a great way to go. Especially if you hunt in an area with a lot of hunters. You don't want to stalk a deer and possible push that deer to someone else. Also, stands allow you to see much further. It gives you a better idea of how and where the deer move and keeps (in some cases) the deer from seeing and smelling you. The only draw back is it can be dangerous and the first time you install your stand it can be noisey.
Old 11-07-2004, 01:52 AM
Boone & Crockett

FLAWED,No way it takes more skill to hunt on the ground. I'm glad 44 years ago I started hunting on the ground. Learned alot of things I would of never learned in a tree. Hey stands are nice and I have used them and if I was able to would today. Scout a area ,find the trails being used and build your ,self a natural brush blind.
Old 11-07-2004, 03:02 AM