Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Shooting tips/help plz?

Old 10-28-2004, 12:58 AM
Fork Horn

Default Shooting tips/help plz?

So, ill try and make this quick. I have been hunting for three years and more or less get something every year. They arent all trophys, but they satisfy me. i do not need help finding the big deer. What I need help with is shooting. I usually make my shots without much problem, out to 200 yards. But although I make these shots they are not where I want them, often high, low, back or front of where I aim. I shoot a 7mm-08 for deer and a .300 mag for anything bigger. I want to be comfortable shooting out to 400 yards and out to 200 yards for running shots. I know many people will tell me "practice makes perfect" and i absoultly beleive this works, but there has to be a method, or tips, a website, maybe a BOOK? anything would help as I want to practice this off season extensivly and go into next hunting season with a very lethal and confident shot.

Thanks for any help.
Old 10-28-2004, 02:07 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Shooting tips/help plz?

I would forget the running shots unless you are shooting a shotgun at deer under 45 yards. You will have more gut shot or wounded deer than you will clean kills trying to shoot running deer.
Old 10-28-2004, 02:44 PM

JMO. . . .But. . . First. . .shoot only at animals that aren't running around, patients, sorry. Next, learn good breath and trigger control. Practice. . . . Practice . . . . Practice.[8D]
Old 10-28-2004, 11:24 PM
Fork Horn

Thanks so far, not shooting at running deer isnt a luxurary I always have especially on my trips to sask where 90% of my shots ar running. but regardless thanks anyways.
Anything else guys? Im tryin to get as much info as possible to write away!
Old 10-28-2004, 11:45 PM
Boone & Crockett