Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 Mixed feelings about going hunting with my brother >

Mixed feelings about going hunting with my brother

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Mixed feelings about going hunting with my brother

Old 09-29-2004, 09:48 AM

Default Mixed feelings about going hunting with my brother

I have been hunting for about 4-5 years now. It is something I really enjoy doing when I have the time and nothing beats the taste of fresh game.

My younger brother wants to start hunting this year. He is set up to take his safety class in October and should be legal right after. He wants to come hunting with me around Thanksgiving.

My dilema: On one hand I love to hunt and I imagine that he would love to hunt. He has always had the same respect for nature and wildlife that we all grew up with. But, for me hunting is (or has been) a solitary passion and my pursuit of game has also been a time of introspection and communion with my inner self. (I sound all New Agey, don't I? Yikes!) But I am sure you all have felt the same way on a beautiful morning in the woods.
Plus, he seems to think that I would just show him all of my hard-earned stand locations and set him up in some of my better spots. (I sound defensive, don't I?)

On the other hand, I would relish the opportunity to introduce another to the hunting lifestyle and teach him what I have learned about reading sign in the woods, shooting accurately for meat (very different than "hunting" for paper targets), dressing game, etc.

So, how should I handle this?

Chubber
Old 09-29-2004, 10:04 AM

Default RE: Mixed feelings about going hunting with my brother