Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Idiots In The Woods

Old 08-22-2004, 07:34 AM

Default Idiots In The Woods

I'm not sure if this is a funny or sad story. Years ago when I graduated from high school I got a job working in a local hardware store. We sold everything from hardware to gifts to sporting goods. On this particular day a gentleman walked into the store so I approached him and asked him could I help him. He said, "Yessir, I need some bullets to go deer hunting with." I said, "OK, what caliber do you need?" He just shrugged his shoulders and said, "I don't know, just give me something that will kill a deer." I then had to explain to him the differences between calibers and bullet weights and construction. He just stood there with this blank look on his face and said, "I'll come back later."

He never returned, thank God! I hope I never have to hunt the same piece of woods as this brain surgeon.
Old 08-22-2004, 09:57 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Idiots In The Woods

I know what you mean , I work part time in a small gun shop .Last fall a guy came in and wanted a box of 7mm or 30 cal ammo to hunt deer ,good stuff. I ask what his gun was chambered for ? He said just give me the ammo . He was a jerk when I tryed again to find out info , so I sold him the box of Weatherby 30-378 ammo that some one had ordered and never picked up ,I figgered he could not hurt himself with ammo that would not fit.
Old 08-22-2004, 07:33 PM

Yes it is sad ive been muzellloading in clarks river befor and had an hunter come under my tree stand and said hi and have i seen any deer
Old 08-24-2004, 08:29 AM

Idiots are all over down here! You can go to any pro shop just before the season and find one or two guys that bought their first bow and are getting ready to hunt. A weeks practice and they're experts.
Old 08-25-2004, 07:13 AM
Banned