Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

after i cap it?

Old 12-26-2003, 07:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default after i cap it?

ok i shot a big 3 pointer tonight and when i took it to the butchers i had them just cut the antlers off with part of the skull i call it capping but i wanted to explain what they did incase its a local term but ive never had one done before its my first buck but what should i do now to get rid of the hair and meat and all? stick it in an ant bed? or what im new to this so hopefully someone can help me out because as of now i have a chunk of deer head sitting on my desk in a bag thanks,sean
Old 12-26-2003, 07:49 PM

Default RE: after i cap it?

that's what we did with my first deer...it was a 6 point, and dad cut the antlers out of the skull with a piece of the skull connecting the two. I hung mine from a pole on a tin roofed carport that wasn't connected to the house. we hung it high enough where cats and neighbors dogs couldn't get it and it took a while, but the brain gook came off and the i took a wire brush and a flathead screwdriver and brushed/chiseled the majority of the hair off of the skull. We used an antler mountin kit from wally world and mounted it on that so nobody sees the tufts of hair left around the antlers
Old 12-26-2003, 07:58 PM

Hey Rusty,
Way to go on your first buck! I've found that the easiest thing to do is to get a sharp knife and some pliers. While the skin is still soft, cut all of the skin away from the antlers and get the blade underneath the skin, cutting as much skin as you can away from the skull. Next, pull off the skin and hair with your pliers. It could take 15 minutes or so, but do it while everything is still soft and it shouldn't be a problem. Good luck.

Jim
Old 12-26-2003, 08:27 PM

While the skin is still soft, cut all of the skin away from the antlers