Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
 What was your first deer rifle? >

What was your first deer rifle?

Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What was your first deer rifle?

Old 11-24-2003, 02:41 PM

Default What was your first deer rifle?

I am still working on my book project and have lots of questions only my friends on hunting.net can answer.

How many of you can remember your first deer rifle, and the first deer you took with it? I am looking for stories that share first experiences in the woods. Where were you?, what kind of weather did you hunt in? Was your dad with you, grandpa, brother, mother, aunt, I would like to hear about your first experience hunting deer.

My story was I hunted with a 7.62 Russian dated 1917, I was a freshman in college back in Wisconsin, and shot my first deer in a blizzard, I was so proud to call my dad back in Chicagol and tell him I got a buck, he was very proud.

I appreciate all the help I can get from everyone, thanks..

Dr. Mike
Old 11-24-2003, 03:10 PM

Default RE: What was your first deer rifle?

My first rifle I ever had was Browning A-bolt medallion 270. The first day I hunted we seen a few does off in the distance nothing close enough. The next morning my dad shot a real nice 10pt scoring in that 140 class and I can remember it was dark enough to see the fire come out of the barrel before the sound. Later that second day I sat in a stand with my brother heavily wooded. I had only sat for about an hour and a small 7 point came by and I took my first shot at a deer and got my first deer right behind the shoulder. I can remeber it being cold and lots of snow here in central Minnesota ideal for deer hunting. I know I will never for get it.
Old 11-24-2003, 03:25 PM