Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Whitetail Deer Hunting
Ladder Stand Opinions and tips. >

Ladder Stand Opinions and tips.

Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Ladder Stand Opinions and tips.

Old 11-12-2019, 05:41 PM
Spike

Default Ladder Stand Opinions and tips.

So to start this off, I'm new to actively hunting. It's my first year. I've been surrounded by it and helped my whole life. I'm wanting to know yalls opinion on how soon I should hunt from my stand I just set today. I wanna check the activity tomorrow but dont wanna spook em too much
Old 11-13-2019, 03:07 AM
Super Moderator

Hunt it every chance you can. You're new, you'll learn something each time you go.

As far as just setting a stand. I've shot plenty of deer from stands I had just set.

​​​​​​
-Jake
Old 11-13-2019, 04:53 AM
Dominant Buck

I have had my best luck hunting out of a newly placed stand. Every time you use a stand you risk tipping off the deer either by scent, sound or sight. My best tip is to be very concerned with wind direction. I never use a stand if the location allows my scent to drift towards where the deer are coming from. I always try to have 2 or more stands set up and I determine which i'll use with the wind as one of the factors. If all factors are equal I try to alternate sitting locations just so I don't get patterned.
Old 11-13-2019, 04:54 AM
Spike

Agree with Jake. I set up a two person ladder stand (and had to do a lot of brush clearing to do so) and saw deer prints in the dirt in front of it the next day.
Old 11-13-2019, 06:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

I pertsonally think many times the best time to hunt a stand is as soon as you hang it, before giving anything time to know its there!
BUT this can depend on how stealthy you were in setting stand up