Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Craziest thing

Old 10-04-2018, 05:55 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default Craziest thing

This morning's hunt gave me a lot of action but something I've never seen before. Now I've seen bucks chasing doe and grunting before and I've been hunting for over 50 years. But this morning I saw a nice racked mature buck running all around the woods near my stand grunting like he was chasing. But, at the earliest, the rut isn't for three weeks and closer to 4 or 5 weeks away. There can't be any doe in estrus yet.
Is he just displaying dominance and staking out his territory for the upcoming rut?
Old 10-04-2018, 06:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

One thing I've observed is they aren't always punctual. I watched a Buck chasing a Doe on a naked hilltop in July once.
Old 10-04-2018, 07:37 AM
Nontypical Buck

The testosterone levels in a North Eastern whitetail buck should almost be max-out by now --- Though I'm not a wildlife biologist that could confirm that.
I'm speculating that rattling-up a buck is good from October 21 on --- At least here in Maryland.

A snort-wheeze from the hunter...might make that running buck stop for a shot; though bucks sometime do the same thing while chasing a doe; in order too coax her to stop for him.

The rut is sparked-on by the angle of the sun's rays that hit the deer's eyes.

Last edited by Erno86; 10-04-2018 at 07:41 AM. Reason: added a sentence
Old 10-04-2018, 01:09 PM
Boone & Crockett