Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Field dressing

Old 11-09-2017, 11:09 PM
Spike

Default Field dressing

I am relatively new to hunting, and have only shot one deer so far. I had alot of help field dressing it from my hunting buddy. I was wondering if there is a good how to video showing the process that someone can recommend? I have watched quite a few youtube videos but just looking for maybe a recommended technique. I am looking into gambrel vs on the ground.
Old 11-10-2017, 01:11 AM
Spike

I attempted to link a video, but failed. Maybe I need more posts

Last edited by mikescooling; 11-10-2017 at 02:51 PM.
Old 11-10-2017, 01:58 AM
Super Moderator

I can't link a video from this computer. But if you search "field dressing deer" on youtube you will find lots of good (And bad) videos.

-Jake
Old 11-10-2017, 03:08 AM
Boone & Crockett

Field dressing denotes you do it in the field where the deer fell. I have never known anyone to carry a gambrel with them while hunting and haul a deer up into a tree to field dress it. That would be more trouble than it is worth.
Old 11-10-2017, 07:05 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by Oldtimr
Field dressing denotes you do it in the field where the deer fell. I have never known anyone to carry a gambrel with them while hunting and haul a deer up into a tree to field dress it. That would be more trouble than it is worth.
Still happy as ever I see, maybe a little lonely.
He never said anything about carrying a gambrel into the woods.
Some hunters and even some public lands/ wmas prefer to field dress or gut a deer at the check station. ( they have designated guy piles)
The way I learned was doing it with someone that has done it before: Or watching someone clean a deer.
If you are near a decent public land area, you can go by the check station and watch a few be cleaned. Especially opening weekend.