Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Layering Clothes

Old 10-21-2003, 05:07 PM

Default Layering Clothes

Need some advice for layering my clothes for hunting. To be more specific for the late November gun season in Wisconsin. I have been hunting for many years and the weather is hard to predict from one year to the next, and I am tired of getting cold on the stand.

How many layers and what materials are best.

I have some midweight polypropylene top and bottoms. Should I pick up a set of lightweight polypropylene or silk liners to put under that or just use the midweight as the base layer against the sikin?

I was then thinking of a insulated flanel top (if needed) and my blaze orange insulated coat for the top. For pants I have some Columbia Gatlyn wool pants, so I think with the midweight bottoms and the wool I should be alright. What about socks, do I need a liner under the wool socks? I have a poypropylene stocking for my head a fleece neck gator.

My other fear is that if the base layer gets sweaty will it wick the sweat and moisture away so I will not have to worry about scent for the next day, or do I need a new base layer for each day to avoid scent contamination?

Thanks for all your thoughts and input on keeping warm this season.

UpNorth
Old 10-22-2003, 12:27 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Layering Clothes

It sounds like you have your bases covered already UpNorth .
The poly undies will wick the sweat , the rest you decide by a current weather report . Dress for the coldest temp expected that day , you can always take something off . Get a scent free platic bag to contain what you peel off to avoid stinking up the North Woods . Good luck 1
Old 10-22-2003, 12:31 PM