Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

What can i do better?

Old 11-06-2014, 08:59 PM
Spike

Default What can i do better?

I'm new to hunting. I have friends that hunt, but frankly they're not very good and don't hunt ethically much of the time. Not a good resource to learn.

I want to get into it because i've always enjoyed the outdoors and my entire wife's family hunts. While they hunt bigger game (elk, bear, weird crap in Canada) but i basically want to start with white tail. My wife has 10+ under her belt and took me out last year and while a saw deer they were small and poor shots so i didn't take them. This year i want to be more prepared. (i borrowed a shotgun, bought a tag and walked into a woods in street clothes with a hunters orange construction vest last year.

So i purchased:

Handi riffle 40-70 with weaver rings and a bushnell banner scope 4-9x

an o-ring adjustable deer call.

Deer piss

A5 Trail cameria

Areas i can hunt:

My parents have 5 acres about 3 is woods with a creek in northwest Ohio. Connects to a 25 acres woods hunted by one person. I've been trowing pears and acorns from my house and even dumped a pile of cracked corn in the woods. Obvious signs of deer. Set up a trailcam today. Disadvantage: Neighbor could be a d-bag about me getting a deer on his land

In laws 60 acres of woods, surrounded by corn fields. This is where i went last year. Disadvantage: Nice but WAY over hunted. Guy pretty much lets everybody in cause hes down for a good time. Is hunted from bow season till the end of gun consistently by 20+ people.

My aunts 70 acre farm with a creek running trough it. has maybe 5 rows of trees on one side, chest high grass for 25 feet on the other. Corn has been taken off. Nothing around but more corn fields and no one else hunts it 'as far as they know'