Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Stand Placement

Old 08-14-2014, 07:33 PM
Spike

Default Stand Placement

This is my first crack at posting on an online hunting forum, and forgive me for my lack of education as I am new to deer hunting. I realize there are many factors that go into stand placement, most of which you need to actually be on the land to determine. But I was wondering if any of you seasoned deer hunters might have just some basic recommendations/advice on where to hang a couple of stands based on an aerial map of a property. I have attached a photo below.

Yellow = Property boundaries
Black = Easement to property
Blue = Water
Red = Current hunting tower
Maroon = Mowed out/Bush Hog'd trails that have easy accessibility

Couple of notes:
-The majority of the property sits up on top of a hill (the easement travels straight upwards).
-The 15 square acres of heavy timber off to the EAST goes straight downhill, and doesn't finally level off until the east boundary of my property.
-The Southern and Nothern sections are both lighter timber and heavy brush/grasses, so from my observation those seem to be the sanctuaries.
-South of my property is just more timber and a county road, no crops.

Let me know what else I might be missing that I can provide without someone actually seeing the land! I'm looking at good places to hang 2 more stands, and also some food plots.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Stand Placement-land-pic-5.jpg  

Last edited by Bow T; 08-15-2014 at 06:34 AM.
Old 08-14-2014, 08:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

How many acres is the property and is North the top of your map as we look at it?
Old 08-15-2014, 04:47 AM
Spike

Originally Posted by Topgun 3006
How many acres is the property and is North the top of your map as we look at it?
Approx 95 acres. Yes, North is up on this image.
Old 08-15-2014, 06:04 AM
Fork Horn